NDIA: Sen. Patty Murray urges support for nationwide Digital Equity Act #DigitalEquityNow

The National Digital Inclusion Alliance (NDIA) is voicing its support for Senator Patty Murray (D-WA)’s introduction Thursday of the “Digital Equity Act” which seeks to authorize over $1 billion in Federal grants to further increase rates of digital inclusion in the United States and its territories.

Co-sponsors of this legislation are Senators Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Angus King (I-ME), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Tina Smith (D-MN), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Gary Peters (D-MI), and Jack Reed (D-RI); the House of Representatives plans a complimentary bill.

The Digital Equity Act would be implemented through the U.S. Commerce Department’s National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) and is expected to provide up to $1.25 billion over 5 years.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.